subject: Restore Your Operating System [print this page] When you rollback your files, you might worry what all you could lose. With Windows Vista, you will not lose any personal files in My Documents. That is certain, so if you want to protect something then putting it in that folder will guarantee that it stays safe no matter when you restore your computer back to. Also, you can restore your system as long as you boot up normally or through safe mode. If your computer doesn't boot up at all, you can't do the restore at all and will have to try to use something else to restore your system.